Crochet City Mouse by Yarnspirations

Opinion: When Yarn Goes Bye Bye

Mikey, The Crochet Crowd

Mikey, The Crochet Crowd

Thanks for visiting my website, TheCrochetCrowd.com. I've been crocheting since I was 14 years old and genuinely excited by yarn and projects to crochet. Serving the globe has it's challenges in reaching audiences of difference languages and cultures but it's remarkable all the same. One of the best elements of crochet is that yarn and project ideas know no borders. Join our learning channel on YouTube, look up "How to Crochet with The Crochet Crowd" and our entire free library of tutorials is waiting for you to enjoy. Subscribe to our channel to be the first to know when new projects are released.

7 thoughts on “Opinion: When Yarn Goes Bye Bye

  • April 21, 2017 at 5:39 am
    Permalink

    My fav was bernat mosaic. I loved how you could start from the outside and have a completely diffrrrnt look. I still have a tote full.
    Discontinued yarn when its gone is losing a good friend.
    Alas making new friends is fun too. On we go to the next yarn adventure.

  • April 18, 2017 at 8:52 am
    Permalink

    Wondering, what your opinion is on cakes, pops and similar yarns that transition in color ?
    Just a trend or here to stay?

    • Jeanne - The Crochet Crowd
      April 18, 2017 at 3:23 pm
      Permalink

      It was started as a trend, so it’s hard to say how long it will hold. Personally, I love it as I love the striped effect, but dislike weaving in ends. Some of my favorite projects ever have been made with Caron Cakes.

  • April 18, 2017 at 12:13 am
    Permalink

    I feel like you wrote this just for me (like…for real. I emailed you about colors that were “limited edition”- and for the record, limited edition is my least favorite). I fell in love with a couple of colors thar (thankfully) I have had enough for my projects or at least a smaller version with a few added colors that arent discontinued…but now I can’t make any more things!! Lol….I’m still heart broken! But I’m over it, mostly. I found some lion brand yarn (Mandala)- and I have enough to make 463 baby blankets and a few full size ones ??? thanks for all you do! And see if you can whisper in someone’s ear to bring back sprucewood and dark real…….just saying ???

  • April 17, 2017 at 10:39 pm
    Permalink

    Hi Mikey,
    I have to say that you where my Ma’s yarn saver. She passed away 4 years ago on the 7th of this month and I am thinking what am I going to do with all the yarn that she had as she was a knitter and crocheter and the boxes of yarn well lets just say at that point I could knit a little but if I got stuck she was always there to help me out with what I was making. So it was either learn how tho crochet or throw the yarn out well I chose the first. Though it was a bumpy road at first trying to find something on you tube every where I went the people did it so fast that I just about gave up till I ran across you one morning. You made it so easy to follow and if I didn’t remember something I could could back to that part and watch it again. As of today I have made twenty Afghans and three of them where for babies and I have six more left to do for my family as memory Afghans of my Ma.

    Thank you for being the great teacher that you are.

  • April 17, 2017 at 8:45 pm
    Permalink

    Yup. Halfway through a blanket with bernat SuperValu in Winter Sky, and……gone. What to do. Frog it all or hope that I somehow stumble on a skein or two in a discount store somewhere along the way.

  • April 17, 2017 at 5:19 pm
    Permalink

    I still have a few balls of ruffle yarn…lol It was given to me from a family member and she never could find a use for it. I made a couple baby blankets with it and the rest I keep because it might work for a trim… or something… I am not a yarn hoarder…. oh no… not me… >_>

Comments are closed.